The Central Trade Unions in India

Posted on Aug 29 2018 - 6:55pm by Preeti

8. LPF (Labour Progressive Federation)

Labour Progressive Federation, trade union federation in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu. The LPF is politically attached to Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam. According to provisional statistics from the Ministry of Labour, LPF had a membership of 611,506 in 2002. All India General Labour Progressive Union represents Un-Organised Sector Labours of India.

9. NFITU (National Front of Indian Trade Unions)

National Front of Indian Trade Union (NFITU) is an apex body founded in the year 1969 for representation, policy making and affiliation of trade unions at the national forum. It achieved the status of Central Trade Union Organization (CTUo) in the year 2008 by Government of India.

The Union has further enhanced its strength by initially associating with and then affiliating another one of the preminent National union of the country viz. Hind Mazdoor Kisan Panchayat (HMKP).

NFITU together with HMKP has 1.4 crores membership spread all over India. Has its presence in around 51 industries across 24 states in India. And in various Industries such as Agricultural & Rural Workers, Defence Services. Domestic Services. Educational Institutes, Electricity & Power, Engineering, Financial, Fishing & Fisheries, Food & Beverages, Forest Workers, Gems & Jwellery, Glass & Potteries, Hospitals & Dispensaries, Iron & Steel, Jute, Local Bodies, Metal, Miscellaneous, Paper & Paper products, Personnel & Security Services, Petroleum & Gas, Port &  Dock workers, Printing & Publishing, Quarry, Building and Construction, Railways, Roadways, Salaried Employees and Professionals, Scheme workers engaged in Aanganwadi, Self Employed, Shops, Establishments, Hotels & Restaurants, Soap & Detergent, Sugar, Cement, Textile, Tobacco, Vendors & Hawkers, Wood/Plywood, Chemical, Drugs & Pharmaceuticals, Clothing & Garments, Coal Mining etc.

10. SEWA (Self Employed Women’s Association)

SEWA is a trade union for poor, self-employed women which was registered in 1972. With over 2 million participating women, SEWA is the largest organization of informal workers in the world and largest non-profit in India. SEWA was founded in 1972 by Gandhian and civil rights leader Ela Bhatt as a branch of Textile Labour Association (TLA), a labour union founded by Gandhi in 1918.


The objective is to organize women workers to have full employment and to be self-reliant. It supports women’s effort to overcome poverty. SEWA is a confluence of labour movement, co-operative movement and women’s movement.

Organization Structure

It is governed by two-tier level of elected representation. The members of each trade elect their representative in ration of 1: 100 members. The elected representative form the Trade Council. Trade Committees also co-exist with Trade Council. The trade committee membership varies between 15 and 50. Trade committees  meet every month. Trade council members are also members of their respective trade committees. Trade committee elects an executive committee of 25 members once in three years. The office bearers are elected from the executive members.

11. TUCC (Trade Union Coordination Centre)

Trade Union Coordination Centre (TUCC) is one of the twelve centrally recognized Central Trade Union Organization in India under the Ministry of Labor and Employment, Govt. of India. According to provisional statistics from the Ministry of Labor & Employment, Govt. of India, TUCC had a membership of more than 1.6 million in 2011. The 9th National Conference of TUCC was held at Bengaluru in February 2016 and elected a new Central Committee. At present Com. Probir Banerjee (Bengal) is the President and Com. G.R. Shivashankar (Karnataka) is the General Secretary of the TUCC Central Committee. The TUCC is the trade union wing of All India Forward Bloc as per its Constitution.

12. UTUC (United Trade Union Congress)

United Trade Union Congress is a central trade union organization in India. UTUC is politically tied to Revolutionary Socialist Party. Abani Roy is the general secretary of UTUC. According to provisional statistics from the Ministry of Labour, UTUC had a membership of 383,946 in 2002. UTUC was founded at an All India Labour Conference in Calcutta, 1 May 1949. The founding president was professor K.T. Shah, a member of the Constituent Assembly from Bombay, and the founding general secretary was Mrinal Kanti Bose, a former AITUC president from Bengal.

Search Terms used for this section

• The Central Trade Union India • Trade Unions in India • Major Central Trade Unions of India • Trade Union Situation in India • List of Trade Unions of India • All India Central Council of Trade Unions (AICCTU) • Objectives of AITUC (All India Trade Union Congress) • Organization Structure of AITUC (All India Trade Union Congress) • All India United Trade Union Centre (AIUTUC) • BMS (Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh) • Objectives of BMS (Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh) • Objectives of CITU (Centre of Indian Trade Union) • Organizational Structure of CITU (Centre of Indian Trade Union) • HMS (Hind Mazdoor Sabha) • Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC) • Objectives of Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC) • LPF (Labour Progressive Federation) • NFITU (National Front of Indian Trade Unions) • SEWA (Self Employed Women’s Association) • Objectives of SEWA (Self Employed Women’s Association) • Organic Structure of SEWA (Self Employed Women’s Association) • TUCC (Trade Union Coordination Centre) • UTUC (United Trade Union Congress)

(Visited 714 times, 1 visits today)

Pages: 1 2 3 4
About the Author

B.Tech Biotechnology,MBA(HR and Marketing), UGC/CBSE NET Qualified

Leave A Response