Renowned Environmentalists of India

Posted on Oct 10 2019 - 8:28am by Preeti

Renowned Environmentalists of India

Most Prominent Environmentalists of India/ 13 Environmentalists You Must Know/ Famous Environmentalists from India

i. Salim Ali

Salim Ali was an Indian ornithologist and naturalist; known as the “birdman of India”, Salim Ali was among the first Indians to conduct systematic bird surveys across India. He was instrumental in creating the Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary (Keoladeo National Park) and prevents the destruction of what is now the Silent Valley National Park. He was awarded India’s second highest civilian honour, the Padma Vibhushan in 1976.


ii. M S Swaminathan

M S Swaminathan is one of India’s foremost agricultural scientists and has also been concerned with various aspects of biodiversity conservation both of cultivars and wild biodiversity. He has founded the M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation in Chennai, which does work on the conservation of biological diversity.


iii. M C Mehta

M C Mehta is undoubtedly India’s most famous environmental lawyer. Since 1984, he has filed several Public Interest Litigations for supporting the cause of environmental conservation. His most famous and long drawn battles supported by the Supreme Court include protecting the Taj Mahal, cleaning up the Ganges River, banning intensive shrimp farming on the coast, initiating Government to implement environmental education in schools and colleges, and a variety of other conservation issues.


iv. Sunderlal Bahugna

Sunderlal Bahugna’s Chipko Movement has become an internationally well-known example of a highly successful conservation action program through the efforts of local people for guarding their forest resources. His fight to prevent the construction of the Tehri Dam in a fragile earthquake prone setting is a battle that he continues to wage. The Garhwal Hills will always remember his dedication to the cause for which he has walked over 20 thousand kilometers.


v. Anil Kumar Agarwal

Anil Kumar Agarwal was the founder-director of the Centre for Science and Environment, India’s leading environmental NGO. Agarwal spent his lifetime advocating policies that involve the people in natural resource management and learn from India’s own traditions.


vi. Anupam Mishra

Anupam Mishra (1948 – 19 December 2016) was an Indian Gandhian, author, journalist, environmentalist, TED speaker(in 2009 ) and water conservationist who worked on promoting water conservation, water management and traditional rainwater harvesting techniques.He had been awarded the 1996 Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar (IGPP) award instituted by the Ministry of Environment and Forests, Government of India. He wrote books like Aaj Bhi Khare Hain Talaab (Ponds Are Still Relevant, 1993) and Rajasthan Ki Rajat Boondein (Radiant Raindrops of Rajasthan, 1995), landmark works in the field of water conservation. Mishra was awarded the ‘Amar Shaheed Chandrasekhar Azad National Award’ of 2007–08, instituted by the Government of Madhya Pradesh, Culture Department to “propagate and publicise ideals of freedom struggle, patriotism and social service”.


(Visited 1,058 times, 1 visits today)

Pages: 1 2 3
About the Author

B.Tech Biotechnology,MBA(HR and Marketing), UGC/CBSE NET Qualified

Leave A Response