The Central Trade Unions

3. AIUTUC (All India United Trade Union Centre )

The All India United Trade Union Centre (AIUTUC), formerly known as United Trade Union Centre (Lanin Sarani) or UTUC-LS, is a Central Trade Union Organization in India and the labour wing of the Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist). Presently its activities are spread over 19 states. The organization claims to have 600 affiliated unions, comprising an individual membership of over two million. It is the 6th largest trade union in India. According to provisional statistics from the Ministry of Labour, UTUC-LS had a membership of 1,368,535 in 2002. All India UTUC was founded at a conference held in Kolkata 26–27 April 1958, following a split in the United Trade Union Congress.

4. BMS (Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh)

It was founded by Dattopant Thengadion 23 July 1955.The BMS itself claims to have more than 10 million members. According to provisional statistics from the Ministry of Labour, the BMS had a membership of 6,215,797 in 2002. It can also be noted that the BMS is not affiliated to any International Trade Union Confederation. It is the labour wing of RSS. BMS is a productivity oriented non-political trade union.


i. To establish the Bhartiya order of class society in which there shall be secured full employment; replacement of profit motive by service and establishment of economic democracy, development of autonomous industrial communities with each one of them consisting of all individuals connected with the industry as partners.

ii. To assist workers in organizing themselves in trade unions as a medium of service to the motherland irrespective of faiths and political affinities.

iii. The right to strike, and

iv. To inculcate in the minds of the workers the spirit of service, co-operation and dutifulness and develop in them a sense of responsibility towards the nation in general and the industry in particular.

v. CITU (Centre of Indian Trade Union)

This is a national federation which was established in 1971 as a result of the split in the AITUC of which was a sequel to split in the CPI a new centre, the Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU) emerged owing to its allegiance to the CPI (M). According to the provisional statistics from the Ministry of Labour, CITU had a membership of 3,222,532 in 2002.

Tapan Sen is the General Secretary of CITU and K.Hemalata is the president.


It is animated by the goal of organizing workers to further their interests in economic, social and political matters.

Organizational Structure

The organizational set-up is as follows:

i. Central committee (national level, general council, including office bearers)

ii. A state committee (state level )

iii. Affiliated unions (unit level) (the primary unions)

The General Council consists of the President, four Vice-Presidents, the General Secretory, not more than four secretaries, and the treasurer.

The General Council of CITU meets once in two years, and the state committee at least twice a year. The day to day operations and administration are carried out by the general secretary and his staff at the state level.

The Central Trade Unions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top
You cannot copy content of this page. The content on this website is NOT for redistribution